You’ve got to ask yourself one question: Do I feel lucky? Well, do ya, punk?

I don’t normally buy the groceries around here.  Oh sure, I occasionally run to the store to get some milk, bread, and cereal so that we have something more substantial than water and ketchup to dine on.  And sometimes the whole family goes on the weekly grocery trip.  But I rarely go to the store to buy the week’s groceries alone.  And by rarely I mean:  it’s probably been over a year.  Kelly would say it’s more like five but who’s counting.

It’s not that I refuse to go.  I offer to go all the time but she never takes me up on it.  She says it’s easier to just do it herself than to make a list for me.  But this time, she called my bluff.  She made a list and sent me on my way.

I hit a few minor snags.  I got the generic Q-tips before I remembered that I had a coupon for the real ones so after I finished my shopping, I walked all the way back across the store to get the right ones.  The store was out of lettuce.  A stocker said that a truck should be there any minute to deliver more.  So after picking up the Q-tips, I made my back across the store to check the lettuce situation one last time.  No luck.  After checking out, I drove to another store that’s sorta on the way home to pick up the lettuce.

But it wasn’t until just a few minutes ago when I went to the freezer and got the ice cream out that I realized that I made one huge mistake today.  After carefully avoiding all cookies and candy and cereal and <insert snack name here> with even a hint of peanut butter because of the nationwide recall, I ended up buying a carton of chocolate moose tracks ice cream.  Yeah, that’s the one with the miniature peanut butter cups in it.  Dammit.

I even reminded myself when I was at the store that I had to avoid peanut butter fudge ice cream and anything with the word Reese’s on the box.  But I never even thought about those tiny peanut butter cups.  I figure they have maybe a 64th of a teaspoon of actual peanut butter per cup.  I’m pretty sure that’s not enough to kill a person.  But I’m not positive.  Dammit.

So after thoroughly googling the recall, it looks like infants, the elderly, and people who are already sick are the ones who should be most worried about salmonella.  And according to the FDA‘s website, my ice cream hasn’t been recalled.  Yet.  But they recommended staying away from just about anything with peanut butter in it until they know more.  Dammit.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random

Leave a Reply

