A neat little trick

Okay, the Target Black Friday ad just got added to gottadeal.com today and I spent the last twenty minutes poring over it.  In fact, at one point, I’m pretty sure I had at least fifteen tabs open at once.  That’s so many tabs that I was afraid the computer might crash if I moved the mouse too fast or turned the printer on.  Some people (the wife) can’t stand it when others (I) have more than three tabs open at once.  “You can only read one tab at a time, you know.”  Yeah, but I can have fourteen others loading up in the meantime.  Duh.

So yeah, I had 15 tabs open and I ended up bookmarking 12 of them.  I know, right?  I’m a tab spaz.  I’m not usually such a bookmark spaz though.  And out of the 12 bookmarks, ten of them were in the toys and games section.  And out of those ten, seven of them are actual toys for the kids instead of crap like video or board games.  And out of those seven, I’d say there’s probably about two or three that I’m interested in solely for the kids’ enjoyment and not because Kelly and I think they’d be fun or because we probably want to play with them more than the actual kids in this family do.

So anyway, what I was going to say was:  Kelly taught me a new trick the other day.  (Ummm, as soon as I typed that out, I just kept typing so that I could let you know this:  yeah, I know it kinda sounded like I was her dog back there in that last sentence.  And I’m pretty sure that should be pissing me off right now.)  So the whole point of this post was supposed to be this:  Kelly read somewhere online that you can open links up in new tabs by clicking the scrolling wheel on the mouse.  And I was just going to say that using this trick has profoundly changed my life.  I am using more tabs than ever and it’s awesome, but I’m still not sure why she showed me this with her big tab-phobia thing.  Anyway, I’ve got 14 more tabs to read.

6 Comments

Filed under Holidays, Random

6 responses to “A neat little trick

  1. Well, aren’t you just the cat’s meow? 😀 I, too, have a thing about having several tabs open at once, so I was relating to your story more than you know. Yeah, I can’t figure why your wife showed you that “neat little trick”, but aren’t you glad she did?
    Love your sarcasm. It shows your intelligence.

  2. Any ideas about using Mac mouses — the ones that don’t have scrolling wheel options?

  3. I don’t know. Maybe try clicking both buttons at once?

  4. ana

    got outta here! that actually DOES work!! 🙂

    now i gotta read your posts with “Holidays, Random, Black Friday, tabs, toys” tags 😛

  5. Nena

    That totally rocks.

  6. MG

    I clicked over to you from Dooce, after making a tab for you, of course (I found many of my favorite blogs via comments on her blog)…and I just used the scroll wheel to open yet another tab in order to comment. I am a tab freak, and I am fairly certain that using this trick will profoundly change my life, too. Thanks to you for sharing, and thanks to your wife for teaching you new tricks!

Leave a Reply

