I heart politics

I love politics.  I love how pretty much every politician is completely full of shit.  I love how they can dodge any question they’re ever asked.  I love how they spin everything.  It’s a beautiful and impressive thing to behold and this is turning out to be one of the most fun presidential campaigns ever.

I love how people wonder if McCain knew that Palin’s daughter was pregnant when he picked her.  Of course he did.  I’m sure he’s got people that work out all the endless possibilities before they make any political decision.  They probably stayed up all night thinking of all the different scenarios and they decided it was worth the risk because it’s just one more thing that makes her look like a regular middle-class American.  The base will love it.  And if anyone criticizes her, we’ll accuse them of being sexist pigs.  Brilliant!

Speaking of middle-class, I read on some blog that Palin and her husband together bring in around $225,000 per year.  I don’t know if that’s true, but in my part of the world that’s considered not so much “middle-class” as it is “fucking rich.”  Yeah, I know–“Anyone richer than you is rich and anyone poorer than you is poor.”  Whatever.  That’s still not my definition of middle class.  And that’s okay.  Be rich all you want.  There’s nothing wrong with it.  (And, yes, I am well aware that many people will disagree with me on my definition of middle class.)

Anyway.  Like I was saying, this campaign season is awesome.  And I can’t wait to see how it all turns out.

6 Comments

Filed under Politics, Random

6 responses to “I heart politics

  1. I am of the same opinion. Find evidence on my blog..
    rgds,
    peter

  2. They may bring in that much money a year, but they do have five kids. Kids are freaking expensive. So they may not feel as rich as they look.

    I know I don’t.

    Anyway, who cares how much money they have? I don’t think that has much bearing on how she conducts herself in office. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with having money. For that matter, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with not having it either. I’ve ever cared about it, then again I’ve never had to worry about it, so therein might lie the difference.

    I’m just ready for election season to be over so I can go back to ignoring politics so my head doesn’t explode. (That’s something for someone with a Political Science degree…a republican no less!) I’ve just decided not to get too worked up over things I can’t control, I’ve let go a little in my old age. The ripe old age of 25, that is. I still have things I’m passionate about, but again, I have a grave fear of head explosion. So I’m on a focusing on politics hiatus.

    Sorry for the fourteen thousand word comment;)

  3. I agree with you that it doesn’t matter how much money they have. That’s what I meant by “Be rich all you want. There’s nothing wrong with it.” I think being a millionaire is all but a prerequisite for the Oval Office anyway (it’s probably in the Constitution somewhere). I also agree that there’s nothing wrong with NOT having any money either. It just makes life tougher, that’s all. And I guess I care about money because I HAVE had to worry about it pretty much my whole life.

    Anyway, my problem is not with them having money or not, but with them being labeled as “middle class.”

    Also, we have three kids so I have an idea of the expenses involved. However, we don’t have any special needs babies. But still.

    It looks like I’m fine with 14,000 word comments. 🙂

  4. Yes, that’s how you know. Personally, I think Palin is the worst possible theoretical offspring of Coulter and Tina Fey. But that’s just me.

    And yes, $225,000 is about NINE times more than someone who’s actually middle class makes. It’s not about how rich or poor you feel. I know plenty of people who “feel” poor because they pay mortgages on $750k houses they shouldn’t have built or drive SUVs with outrageous leases that cost $100 to fill up with Palin’s Arctic oil baby oil. I have significantly less sympathy for them than I do the family who lives next door, a jumble of cousins and brothers and wives and kids in a three-bedroom house, who are already hard at work as farm caretakers and housecleaners when I get up in the morning and still working when I come upstairs to read at night.

    On the other hand, that family of eight feels rich, because they are all together, they have enough money to feed themselves and buy five-year-old Alex a bright blue bicycle, his first two-wheeler, brand new, and he and Michelle can go to school every day all the way through high school, and maybe even college, which is something their parents in Mexico never had. They are the happiest people I know, and they laugh at least as hard as they work.

    PS, an idle thought: I know that Palin recently cut special needs funding in Alaska by 62%. Was that before or after Trig was born? Does she feel differently now? Would she feel differently if she didn’t make more than nine times what I make as an educator? (Yes, you did the math right. I am not financial solvent, and Children are still getting Left Behind.)

  5. Here by way of the lovely firecat — and could not agree more! I like dissent, discussion and disagreement of all sorts, so this is my favorite time of year!

  6. It is an exciting time (and I can finally vote, so that’s good too), but I’m kind of sick of all the constant coverage. I can only take watching the news for a few minutes before I get annoyed about the stupid stuff they tend to focus on.

Leave a Reply

