I want to ride my bicycle/I want to ride my bike

This year, the wife and her parents went in together on a bicycle for my birthday present.  Since then, I’ve ridden it about twice a month or maybe 8-10 times total.  After dinner tonight, Big D talked me into going riding with him again.

Not long after we set out, I realized my bike was making a little clicking noise but it didn’t seem like a big deal.  I thought maybe the gears were just acting up or something so I ignored it and we kept going.  We ended up at a park over by Big D’s school and we even found some trails that snaked alongside the railroad tracks which we had never noticed before.  After riding the trails for a while, we eventually started heading back home.

We were a little more than two miles from home when something (maybe the freehub?) broke on my bike.  Suddenly, the pedals didn’t work anymore.  They spun the chain but the wheel wasn’t being driven at all.  I tried messing with the rear derailleur but I only succeeded in getting my hands dirty.  Of course, Big D figured this was probably a good time to have a nice freakout session.  After calming and reassuring him, I decided that I would have to walk the rest of the way so I called the wife to let her know we would be a little late.

Let me just say that walking a bike two miles is a lot less fun than riding a bike two miles.  There were a couple of spots where I could sit on it and coast but you’d be surprised how quickly your momentum fizzles out when you have nothing but gravity working for you.  About halfway home, we saw one of Big D’s kindergarten classmates riding bikes with her mom.  I just smiled and kept walking, pretending that it’s perfectly normal to hop off your bike and push it occasionally.  After all, who needs all that monotonous pedalling?  And speed?

Of course, the worst part of the trip was the very last block.  I’m not sure why (I usually don’t give a shit about impressing people), but I couldn’t let the neighbors see me pushing my new bike.  So as we came around the corner heading to our house, I straddled the bike, furiously pushed off the curb several times, and actually managed to pick up a little speed.  Enough speed, in fact, that I coasted the rest of the way home; sitting on my bike, sweating profusely, waving at the neighbors, and grinning like an idiot.

Overall, I’d say things went pretty well.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random

Leave a Reply

